SSC CHSL 2026: 2,536 LDC, JSA and DEO Posts

Oct 6, 2026 5 min read

Job highlights

Organisation Staff Selection Commission (SSC)
Location Various locations across India
Employment type Other
Vacancies 2536
Salary INR 19,900 – 92,300 / month
Posted Sep 7, 2026
Apply by Oct 7, 2026
Education Class 12 or equivalent from a recognised board or university for LDC/JSA and DEO/DEO Grade ‘A’. For DEO/DEO Grade ‘A’ in the department identified in paragraph 8.1 of the notification, Class 12 in the Science stream with Mathematics is required. The qualification must be obtained by 2026-10-07.
Age limit 18–27 years as on 2026-08-01; eligible birth dates are 1999-08-02 to 2008-08-01. Relaxations: SC/ST 5 years; OBC 3 years; PwBD 10 years; PwBD-OBC 13 years; PwBD-SC/ST 15 years; ESM 3 years after deduction of military service; Central Government civilian e
Application fee General/OBC/EWS: INR 100. Women, SC, ST, PwBD and ESM: exempted. Fee is non-refundable.

The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) has opened applications for the Combined Higher Secondary (10+2) Level Examination, 2026, to recruit candidates for Group C clerical and data-entry posts in Government of India ministries, departments and offices. Candidates who meet the post-specific Class 12 qualification and age requirements can apply online through SSC or the mySSC mobile application.

About 2,536 tentative vacancies have been announced for Lower Division Clerk (LDC)/Junior Secretariat Assistant (JSA), Data Entry Operator (DEO) and DEO Grade ‘A’ posts. Applications are being accepted from September 7 to October 7, 2026; the selection process has Tier-I and Tier-II computer-based examinations, with a qualifying skill or typing test in Tier-II. SSC has scheduled Tier-I between November 30 and December 31, 2026.

Important Dates

EventDate
Notification released and online registration beganSeptember 7, 2026
Notice announcing the Tier-I exam scheduleOctober 1, 2026
Last date to submit the online applicationOctober 7, 2026, 11:00 pm
Last date to pay the fee onlineOctober 8, 2026, 11:00 pm
Application correction windowOctober 14–16, 2026
Tier-I computer-based examinationNovember 30–December 31, 2026
Admit card and exam city slipTo be notified
Tier-II examinationTo be notified

Vacancy Details

SSC has announced approximately 2,536 vacancies in total. The notification does not provide a confirmed post-wise or category-wise count at this stage. The final vacancy figures will be decided after the Commission scrutinises information received from the user departments; updated post-wise and category-wise details are to be published on the SSC website.

PostPay levelPay scaleVacancy information
Lower Division Clerk (LDC)/Junior Secretariat Assistant (JSA)Level 2INR 19,900–63,200 per monthPart of approximately 2,536 total vacancies; separate count not stated
Data Entry Operator (DEO)Level 4 and Level 5INR 25,500–81,100 at Level 4; INR 29,200–92,300 at Level 5Part of approximately 2,536 total vacancies; separate count not stated
Data Entry Operator, Grade ‘A’Level 4INR 25,500–81,100 per monthPart of approximately 2,536 total vacancies; separate count not stated

Eligibility Criteria

Educational Qualification

Applicants must meet the relevant qualification by October 7, 2026. For LDC/JSA and DEO or DEO Grade ‘A’ posts, candidates must have passed Class 12 or an equivalent examination from a recognised board or university. For DEO/DEO Grade ‘A’ posts in the department identified in paragraph 8.1 of the notification, the required qualification is Class 12 in the Science stream with Mathematics as a subject. Candidates who have appeared in their Class 12 or equivalent examination may apply, but they must obtain the required qualification by the October 7 cut-off date.

Age Limit

The prescribed age range is 18 to 27 years as on August 1, 2026. Candidates must have been born not before August 2, 1999, and not later than August 1, 2008, subject to the applicable relaxations. The notification specifies relaxations of five years for SC/ST candidates, three years for OBC candidates, 10 years for PwBD candidates, 13 years for PwBD candidates in the OBC category and 15 years for PwBD candidates in the SC/ST category. Ex-servicemen may receive three years’ relaxation after deduction of military service. Central Government civilian employees with at least three years of continuous service may be eligible up to 40 years of age, while widows and divorced women may be eligible up to 35 years, as specified in the notification.

Application Fee

Applicant categoryFee
General, OBC and EWSINR 100
Women, SC, ST, PwBD and ESMNo fee; exempted

The fee can be paid online using BHIM UPI, net banking, or a debit or credit card. SSC states that a fee once paid will not be refunded.

How to Apply

  1. Visit the official SSC website at ssc.gov.in or use the mySSC mobile application. Applications are accepted online only.
  2. If you have not already registered on the new SSC website, complete One-Time Registration (OTR). Enter the requested personal and educational details and provide the required documents. Keep a valid personal email address and mobile number available.
  3. Sign in with your Registration Number and password.
  4. Open the application link for the Combined Higher Secondary (10+2) Level Examination, 2026.
  5. Complete the form with your personal, educational and category information, and check that the details are accurate.
  6. Use the application module to capture a live photograph. A pre-existing photograph is not permitted.
  7. Upload a scanned signature in JPEG format, with a file size of 10–20 KB.
  8. Pay the applicable fee through an available online payment method, unless you are exempted.
  9. Review the full application before submitting it. Save or print the completed form for your records.

The detailed notification is available as a PDF at SSC CHSL 2026 notification.

Salary & Pay Scale

Pay is determined by the post and pay level. LDC/JSA posts are in Level 2, with a scale of INR 19,900–63,200 per month. DEO posts are in Level 4 or Level 5, with scales of INR 25,500–81,100 and INR 29,200–92,300 respectively. DEO Grade ‘A’ is listed at Level 4, with a scale of INR 25,500–81,100 per month.

Selection Process

Selection involves Tier-I followed by Tier-II. Tier-I is a computer-based examination with four subjects: English Language (Basic Knowledge), General Intelligence, Quantitative Aptitude (Basic Arithmetic Skill), and General Awareness. Each subject has 25 questions for 50 marks, and the exam lasts 60 minutes, with a 15-minute sectional timer for each subject. There is a deduction of 0.50 marks for each wrong answer.

Tier-II includes objective computer-based tests and a qualifying skill or typing test. Session-I lasts 2 hours and 15 minutes: Section-I covers Mathematical Abilities (30 questions) and Reasoning and General Intelligence (30 questions), with one hour allowed; Section-II covers English Language and Comprehension (40 questions) and General Awareness (20 questions), with one hour allowed; and Section-III is a Computer Knowledge Test of 15 questions with 15 minutes allowed. The notification lists 180 maximum marks for each Section-I and Section-II subject and 45 for the Computer Knowledge Test. One mark is deducted for each wrong answer in Sections I, II and III.

In Session-II, Section-IV comprises a 15-minute skill test for DEOs in the department mentioned in paragraph 8.1, a 15-minute skill test for other DEOs, or a 10-minute typing test for LDC/JSA, as applicable. The Computer Knowledge Test and the skill or typing test are qualifying. The notification states that the LDC/JSA typing test requires 35 words per minute in English or 30 words per minute in Hindi. Final merit is based on aggregate marks in Sections I and II of Tier-II, subject to qualifying in Sections III and IV.

Eligible candidates should submit their applications by October 7, 2026, at 11:00 pm, and allow time to complete the form and any applicable fee payment before the respective deadlines.

Important links

Frequently asked questions

What is the last date to apply for SSC CHSL 2026? +

The online application must be submitted by October 7, 2026, at 11:00 pm. The deadline for online fee payment is October 8, 2026, at 11:00 pm.

How many vacancies has SSC announced? +

SSC has announced approximately 2,536 tentative vacancies across LDC/JSA, DEO and DEO Grade ‘A’ posts. Separate confirmed post-wise and category-wise counts are not stated in the notification details provided.

What education is required for the CHSL posts? +

Most posts require Class 12 or an equivalent qualification from a recognised board or university. Some DEO/DEO Grade ‘A’ posts in the department identified in paragraph 8.1 require Class 12 Science with Mathematics.

How much is the SSC CHSL application fee? +

The fee is INR 100 for General, OBC and EWS candidates. Women, SC, ST, PwBD and ESM applicants are exempted. A paid fee is non-refundable.

When will the SSC CHSL Tier-I exam take place? +

Tier-I is scheduled to be held from November 30 to December 31, 2026. The admit card and exam city slip dates are yet to be announced.

Does SSC CHSL include a typing or skill test? +

Yes. Tier-II includes an applicable DEO skill test or an LDC/JSA typing test, and these are qualifying. The stated LDC/JSA typing speeds are 35 words per minute in English or 30 words per minute in Hindi.

#SSC CHSL #SSC Recruitment #LDC #JSA #DEO #Government Jobs

More jobs