SSB Odisha Laboratory Assistant-cum-Storekeeper Recruitment 2026

Oct 10, 2026 4 min read

Job highlights

Organisation State Selection Board, Higher Education Department, Odisha
State 🛕 Odisha
Employment type Other
Vacancies 435
Posted Oct 3, 2026
Apply by Nov 16, 2026
Education Bachelor’s degree with Honours in the relevant practical subject: Physics, Chemistry, Botany, Zoology, Anthropology, Education, Geography, Geology, Home Science or Psychology. The stated criteria are based on the previous SSB advertisement; candidates should confirm the 2026 detailed notification.
Age limit Minimum age 21 years and maximum age 38 years. Age is verified from the HSC (Class 10) certificate. Upper-age relaxation: 5 years for SC, ST, SEBC, women and ex-servicemen; 10 years for PwD candidates with 40% disability or above. No age-calculation date
Application fee Online fee payment is required using the Application ID before the deadline. The amount and category-wise concessions are not stated in the supplied information; check the detailed Advertisement No. 04/2026.

The State Selection Board (SSB), under Odisha’s Higher Education Department, has announced recruitment for Laboratory Assistant-cum-Storekeeper posts through Advertisement No. 04/2026. Candidates with an Honours degree in a relevant practical subject who meet the stated age and Odia-language conditions should review the detailed notification before applying.

The recruitment covers 435 posts in Government Degree Colleges and Non-Government Aided Colleges in Odisha. Online applications are scheduled to open at 2:30 PM on 12 October 2026 and close at 11:45 PM on 16 November 2026; selection is based on a written multiple-choice test. The notice says candidates must pay the application fee by the closing time, but the fee amount is not specified in the information provided here.

Important Dates

EventDate
Short notice issued3 October 2026
Detailed notification available on the website5 October 2026
Online application opens12 October 2026 at 2:30 PM
Last date to apply and pay the fee16 November 2026 at 11:45 PM
Written examinationTo be announced

Vacancy Details

There are 435 Laboratory Assistant-cum-Storekeeper vacancies across Government Degree Colleges and Non-Government Aided Colleges under the Higher Education Department. Posts are distributed subject-wise across practical subjects, including Physics, Chemistry, Botany, Zoology, Anthropology, Education, Geography, Geology, Home Science and Psychology. The supplied information does not give the individual subject-wise or category-wise vacancy counts.

PostInstitutionsVacancies
Laboratory Assistant-cum-StorekeeperGovernment Degree Colleges and Non-Government Aided Colleges435

Reservation is stated to apply for Scheduled Tribes at 22.5%, Scheduled Castes at 16.25% and SEBC candidates at 11.25%, as well as for women, persons with disabilities, ex-servicemen and sportspersons. Refer to the detailed advertisement for the subject-wise and category-wise allocation.

Eligibility Criteria

Educational Qualification

Candidates are required to hold a Bachelor’s degree with Honours in the practical subject relevant to the post. The subjects listed in the recruitment information are Physics, Chemistry, Botany, Zoology, Anthropology, Education, Geography, Geology, Home Science and Psychology. The stated eligibility is based on the previous SSB advertisement, so applicants should check the 2026 detailed notification for any amendments.

Applicants must be Indian citizens and must be able to read, write and speak Odia. They must have passed Odia at least at the Class VII or Middle English standard, or have completed matriculation through an Odia-medium school. Government employees may apply, but must produce a No Objection Certificate at document verification.

Age Limit

The stated minimum age is 21 years and the maximum age is 38 years. Age is verified using the HSC (Class 10) certificate; the available information does not state a separate age-calculation date. The upper-age limit is relaxed by 5 years for SC, ST and SEBC candidates, women and ex-servicemen, and by 10 years for persons with disabilities with 40% disability or above.

Application Fee

The recruitment instructions require candidates to pay the application fee online using their Application ID before the deadline. The fee amount and any category-wise fee concessions are not stated in the supplied notification text, so candidates should consult the detailed Advertisement No. 04/2026 for the applicable charges.

How to Apply

  1. Visit the official SSB Odisha website at ssbodisha.ac.in.
  2. Open the online application link for Laboratory Assistant-cum-Storekeeper under Advertisement No. 04/2026.
  3. Read the application instructions and register using your basic details.
  4. Complete the form, including your graduation percentage. If your result is in CGPA, convert it using your university’s prescribed formula.
  5. Upload a recent photograph, your signature and your left-hand thumb impression as instructed.
  6. Pay the applicable fee online against your Application ID before the closing time.
  7. Review the information carefully and submit the form. There is no edit option after final submission. The submitted form can be downloaded from the website after 24 hours.

Salary & Pay Scale

The Laboratory Assistant-cum-Storekeeper post is classified as Group B and is placed at Pay Level 9 under the Odisha Revised Scale of Pay (ORSP) Rules, 2017. The supplied information does not state the corresponding rupee pay range. Selected candidates are also eligible for allowances under state government rules and coverage under the National Pension System.

Selection Process

Selection is based on a single written test; no interview or skill test is specified. The test consists of 100 multiple-choice questions on a carbonless OMR sheet, carries 150 marks at 1.5 marks per question and lasts two hours. A penalty of 0.5 mark applies for each incorrect answer. The qualifying threshold is 40% for unreserved candidates and 30% for SC, ST, SEBC and PwD candidates. The listed examination centres are Balasore, Berhampur, Bhubaneswar, Jeypore and Sambalpur, and the syllabus is to be made available on the SSB Odisha website. If candidates tie in marks, the candidate with the higher graduation percentage ranks first; if the tie remains, the older candidate is ranked higher.

Eligible candidates should check the detailed advertisement and complete their online application and fee payment by 11:45 PM on 16 November 2026.

Important links

Frequently asked questions

How many Laboratory Assistant-cum-Storekeeper vacancies have been announced? +

SSB Odisha has announced 435 vacancies. The supplied information does not include the detailed subject-wise or category-wise distribution.

When is the last date to apply and pay the fee? +

The deadline is 16 November 2026 at 11:45 PM. The application link is scheduled to open on 12 October 2026 at 2:30 PM.

What qualification is required for this recruitment? +

Candidates need a Bachelor’s degree with Honours in the relevant practical subject. They must also meet the stated Odia-language requirement; applicants should verify the detailed 2026 notification for any changes.

What is the application fee? +

Online fee payment is required, but the supplied information does not specify the amount or any category-wise concessions. Check the detailed Advertisement No. 04/2026 for the fee schedule.

How will candidates be selected? +

Selection is through one written MCQ test. The notice specifies no interview or skill test.

Where should candidates submit the application? +

Applications are to be submitted online through the official SSB Odisha website at https://ssbodisha.ac.in/.

#SSB Odisha #Lab Assistant #Odisha recruitment #government jobs #college jobs

More jobs