SBI PO Prelims Answer Key 2026

Oct 17, 2026 4 min read

Job highlights

Organisation State Bank of India
Employment type Full Time
Vacancies 1500
Salary INR 48,480 – 85,920 / month
Posted Oct 12, 2026
Education Graduation degree in any discipline from a recognised university. Final-year students could apply provisionally if they passed by 2026-09-30.
Age limit 21 to 30 years as of 2026-04-01; date of birth must fall between 1996-04-02 and 2005-04-01, inclusive. Upper-age relaxation applies to eligible reserved categories under Government norms; individual relaxation periods are not specified.
Application fee Recruitment application fee: INR 750 for General, EWS and OBC candidates; SC, ST and PwBD candidates are exempt. An objection fee may apply, but its amount is not specified.

State Bank of India (SBI) released the provisional answer key and response sheet for the 2026 Probationary Officer Preliminary Examination on 12 October 2026. Candidates who appeared in the examination can sign in through SBI’s official careers website to check their responses, estimate their score and raise a supported challenge if they believe an answer is incorrect.

The SBI PO recruitment notification, Advertisement No. CRPD/PO/2026-27/09, announced 1,500 vacancies, comprising 1,446 regular posts and 54 backlog posts. Applications were accepted online from 18 June to 8 July 2026; the recruitment process includes Preliminary and Main examinations, followed by a psychometric test, group exercises and interview. The provisional answer key is available online, while the objection window is described as a prescribed period; no closing date for challenges is specified in the available notice.

Important Dates

EventDate
Recruitment notification released18 June 2026
Online applications opened18 June 2026
Last date to apply online8 July 2026, 11:59 PM
Phase-I Preliminary admit card22 July 2026
Preliminary examination1 and 2 August 2026, as described in the notice; the recruitment dates table lists 2 August 2026
Phase-I Preliminary answer key released12 October 2026
Phase-II Main examination admit card2 September 2026
Phase-II Main examination12 September 2026
Phase-II Main resultSeptember / October 2026
Psychometric test, group exercises and interviewOctober / November 2026
Final resultNovember / December 2026
Answer-key objection deadlineNot specified

Vacancy Details

Vacancy typeNumber of posts
Regular vacancies1,446
Backlog vacancies54
Total Probationary Officer vacancies1,500

The notification identifies vacancies across the UR, OBC, EWS, SC and ST categories, but the available details do not provide a category-by-category count.

Eligibility Criteria

Educational Qualification

Applicants for the SBI PO recruitment were required to hold a graduation degree in any discipline from a recognised university. Students in the final year of their degree could apply provisionally, on the condition that they passed on or before 30 September 2026.

Age Limit

Candidates had to be between 21 and 30 years old as of 1 April 2026. The stated date-of-birth range was 2 April 1996 to 1 April 2005, inclusive. Upper-age relaxation is available to eligible reserved-category candidates under Government norms; the supplied notice does not give the individual relaxation periods.

Application Fee

Candidate categoryRecruitment application fee
General, EWS and OBC750
SC, ST and PwBDExempted

The notice says an objection fee may apply when challenging an answer but does not state an amount. Check the objection portal for any applicable charge before submitting a challenge.

How to Apply

  1. Open SBI’s official website at sbi.bank.in or sbi.co.in, then go to the Current Openings section.
  2. Find Advertisement No. CRPD/PO/2026-27/09 for recruitment of Probationary Officers and select the Preliminary Answer Key link.
  3. Sign in using your roll number or registration number and date of birth, then complete the CAPTCHA verification.
  4. Submit the details and download the answer key and response sheet. Save a copy so you can review your recorded answers.
  5. To challenge an answer, open the objection facility, select the question in dispute and upload supporting evidence from a standard textbook or another authentic source.
  6. Pay an objection charge if the portal requires one, submit the challenge before the prescribed deadline and retain the confirmation. Challenges without valid evidence or submitted after the deadline will not be considered.

The answer key can be used to estimate a tentative score. The Preliminary paper has 100 questions for 100 marks: English Language has 40 questions, Quantitative Aptitude has 30, and Reasoning Ability has 30. Each correct answer earns one mark, each wrong answer carries a deduction of 0.25 marks, and an unanswered question earns no marks. Calculate an estimate as: correct answers × 1, minus wrong answers × 0.25. For example, 70 correct responses and 12 incorrect responses give an estimated score of 67. The three sections are allotted 20 minutes each, for a total examination duration of one hour.

Salary & Pay Scale

The stated starting basic pay for a selected Probationary Officer is INR 48,480, with four advance increments. The JMGS-I pay scale is INR 48,480–85,920. The approximate annual cost to company at Mumbai is INR 21.97 lakh.

Selection Process

The recruitment has three phases. Phase I is the Preliminary Examination, carrying 100 marks. Phase II is the Main Examination, carrying 230 marks across objective and descriptive components. Phase III comprises a psychometric test, group exercises worth 20 marks and a personal interview worth 30 marks. The provisional Preliminary answer key allows candidates to check their responses and submit evidence-backed objections; SBI will review legitimate challenges and issue a final answer key, which will be used to calculate the result. The result was listed as forthcoming in the source notice.

Candidates who appeared in the Preliminary examination can use the official SBI careers links to review their answer key and response sheet. Check the portal for the objection deadline and submit any supported challenge within the stated period.

Important links

Frequently asked questions

When was the SBI PO Prelims Answer Key 2026 released? +

SBI released the Preliminary answer key on 12 October 2026.

How many Probationary Officer vacancies were announced? +

The recruitment has 1,500 posts: 1,446 regular vacancies and 54 backlog vacancies.

How can I download the SBI PO answer key and response sheet? +

Visit sbi.bank.in or sbi.co.in, open Current Openings, find Advertisement No. CRPD/PO/2026-27/09 and select the Preliminary Answer Key link. Sign in with your roll or registration number and date of birth, complete the CAPTCHA and download the document.

Can candidates challenge an answer in the provisional key? +

Yes. Candidates can submit an online objection within the prescribed window and should provide supporting evidence from a standard textbook or authentic source. Objections without valid proof or submitted after the deadline will not be considered.

What is the last date to submit an objection? +

The supplied notice does not state a specific objection deadline. Candidates should check the official answer-key portal for the closing date.

What is the application fee for SBI PO Recruitment 2026? +

The recruitment application fee was INR 750 for General, EWS and OBC candidates. SC, ST and PwBD candidates were exempt. Any separate objection fee is not specified in the notice.

#SBI PO #answer key #response sheet #Probationary Officer #SBI recruitment

More jobs