RRB Station Master Recruitment 2026: 1,250 Posts
Job highlights
| Organisation | Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) |
|---|---|
| Location | All India |
| Employment type | Full Time |
| Vacancies | 1250 |
| Apply by | Nov 25, 2026 |
| Education | The required educational qualification is not stated in the indicative notice; check detailed CEN No. 08/2026. |
| Age limit | Age limit and relaxation are to be specified in the detailed CEN. Age is to be calculated as on 2027-01-01. |
| Application fee | Not stated in the indicative notice; refer to the detailed CEN for fee amounts and payment rules. |
The Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) have issued an indicative notice for Station Master recruitment in 2026 under CEN No. 08/2026. The opportunity is open to candidates interested in a regular Indian Railways position, but applicants should wait for the detailed CEN to confirm the precise eligibility conditions before applying.
The notice lists approximately 1,250 tentative vacancies across RRBs, with online applications tentatively scheduled to open on 27 October 2026 and close on 25 November 2026 at 11:59 PM. Applications are to be made online through the RRB application website. The stated selection stages are CBT 1, CBT 2, document verification and a medical examination; the detailed CEN will provide the full process and other recruitment terms.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Online application opens (tentative) | 27 October 2026 |
| Last date to submit the online application (tentative) | 25 November 2026, up to 11:59 PM |
| Computer Based Test dates | To be announced in the detailed CEN |
Vacancy Details
The indicative notice reports about 1,250 Station Master vacancies across all RRBs. This figure is tentative; the zone-wise and category-wise distribution has not yet been provided and is expected in the detailed CEN.
| Post | Pay level | Medical standard | Tentative vacancies |
|---|---|---|---|
| Station Master | Level 6 (7th CPC) | To be specified in the detailed CEN | Approximately 1,250 |
Eligibility Criteria
Educational Qualification
The indicative notice does not specify the required educational qualification. Candidates should consult the detailed CEN No. 08/2026 for the precise qualification and any other eligibility conditions before submitting an application.
Age Limit
The age criteria, including any applicable age relaxation, have not been stated in the indicative notice and will be set out in the detailed CEN. The notice identifies 1 January 2027 as the date on which age is to be calculated. The medical standard for the post will also be specified in the detailed CEN.
Application Fee
The indicative notice does not provide application fee details. Candidates should check the detailed CEN for the applicable fee, payment instructions and any category-based fee provisions.
How to Apply
- Once applications open, visit the official RRB application website at rrbapply.gov.in.
- Complete the required registration and follow the instructions published for CEN No. 08/2026.
- Check your primary details carefully. RRBs advise candidates to verify details using Aadhaar to help avoid inconvenience or delays during scrutiny. The name and date of birth on Aadhaar should match the full name and date of birth on the Class 10 pass certificate.
- Before filling in the form, make sure Aadhaar has an up-to-date photograph and current fingerprint and iris biometrics, as advised in the notice.
- Keep the required certificates and documents, including educational qualification and category certificates, ready for the application process.
- Submit the application by 25 November 2026 at 11:59 PM, subject to confirmation of the tentative schedule in the detailed CEN.
Salary & Pay Scale
The Station Master post is listed at Pay Level 6 under the 7th Central Pay Commission. The indicative notice does not state a specific salary amount; candidates should refer to the detailed CEN for further pay information.
Selection Process
The indicative notice describes the selection process as a Computer Based Test (CBT 1), followed by CBT 2, document verification and a medical examination against the prescribed standard for the post. The detailed CEN will confirm the complete procedure, including the examination particulars.
Eligible candidates should review the detailed CEN when it is published and complete the online application within the announced period, no later than the stated closing time if the tentative deadline is confirmed.
Important links
- Online application: http://www.rrbapply.gov.in
- Common RRB website for detailed CEN: https://rrb.indianrailways.gov.in
- Indicative short CEN notice: http://nqe.in/wp-content/uploads/RRB-Station-Master-Recruitment-08_2026-short-Notice.png
Frequently asked questions
How many Station Master vacancies have been announced? +
The indicative notice announces approximately 1,250 tentative vacancies across all RRBs. The zone-wise and category-wise distribution is to be provided in the detailed CEN.
When does the RRB Station Master application period begin and end? +
Applications are tentatively scheduled to open on 27 October 2026 and close on 25 November 2026 at 11:59 PM. Candidates should check the detailed CEN for confirmation.
What educational qualification and age limit are required? +
The indicative notice does not specify either the educational qualification or the age limit and relaxation. These details will be given in the detailed CEN. Age is to be calculated as on 1 January 2027.
What is the application fee? +
The indicative notice does not state an application fee. Refer to the detailed CEN for fee amounts and payment instructions.
What is the selection process for Station Master? +
The stated stages are CBT 1, CBT 2, document verification and a medical examination. The detailed CEN will provide the complete selection procedure.
Where should candidates apply, and what Aadhaar checks are advised? +
Applications are to be submitted through http://www.rrbapply.gov.in when the application window opens. Candidates are advised to verify primary details using Aadhaar and ensure its name and date of birth match the Class 10 certificate. The notice also recommends updating the Aadhaar photograph and biometrics.