NML Assistant Law Officer Recruitment 2026
Job highlights
| Organisation | NTPC Mining Limited (NML) |
|---|---|
| Employment type | Other |
| Education | Confirmed: candidates must appear in CLAT-2027 for PG courses (LL.M.) conducted by the Consortium of National Law Universities; earlier CLAT scores and other exam scores are not accepted. A recognised three-year or five-year integrated LL.B. and minimum marks of 60% (55% for SC/PwBD) are cited only as expected criteria based on NTPC’s previous recruitment and are not confirmed by NML. |
| Age limit | NML has not announced the age limit, cut-off date or relaxation details. NTPC’s previous Assistant Law Officer recruitment used a maximum age of 30 years with reserved-category relaxations under Government rules; this is only a reference, not a confirmed |
| Application fee | NML’s application fee and category-wise exemptions are to be announced. CLAT-2027 registration has a separate fee payable to the Consortium of National Law Universities; its amount is not stated in the NML pre-advertisement. |
NTPC Mining Limited (NML), a wholly owned subsidiary of NTPC Ltd. and a Schedule ‘B’ Central Public Sector Enterprise, has issued a pre-advertisement for Assistant Law Officer recruitment under Advertisement No. NML/02/2026. The opportunity is intended for law graduates who will appear in the CLAT-2027 examination for postgraduate courses (PG); candidates relying on a score from an earlier CLAT examination cannot apply.
The recruitment is for the Assistant Law Officer post at E0 level, but NML has not yet announced the number of vacancies. CLAT-2027 registration is scheduled from 3 August to 31 October 2026, and the examination is scheduled for 6 December 2026. Candidates will need to apply separately to NML online after its detailed advertisement is published; shortlisting is to be based on CLAT-2027 PG performance and NML’s organisational requirements, with any further stages to be confirmed later.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| NML pre-advertisement, Advt. No. NML/02/2026 | October 2026 |
| CLAT-2027 registration opens | 3 August 2026 |
| CLAT-2027 registration closes | 31 October 2026 |
| CLAT-2027 examination | 6 December 2026, 2:00 PM to 4:00 PM |
| NML detailed advertisement | To be announced on the NML website |
| NML online application period | To be announced |
Applicants must complete the CLAT-2027 PG registration by the Consortium of National Law Universities’ deadline. NML’s separate application dates will be published in its detailed advertisement.
Vacancy Details
The pre-advertisement confirms recruitment for Assistant Law Officers at E0 level but does not specify a vacancy count or category-wise distribution. NML states that the requirement may be increased, reduced or cancelled according to organisational needs. The detailed advertisement is expected to provide the final post count and any category allocation.
| Post | Level | Vacancies |
|---|---|---|
| Assistant Law Officer | E0 | To be announced |
Eligibility Criteria
Educational Qualification
The confirmed requirement is that applicants must appear in CLAT-2027 for postgraduate courses (PG/LL.M.), conducted by the Consortium of National Law Universities. CLAT scores from previous years and scores from other examinations will not be accepted for this recruitment.
NML has not yet confirmed the qualifying law degree or minimum marks requirement. The source notice describes a bachelor’s degree in Law, either a three-year LL.B. or a five-year integrated LL.B., from a recognised university as an expected qualification based on NTPC’s previous Assistant Law Officer recruitment. That earlier recruitment also required 60% marks, with 55% for SC/PwBD candidates. These previous-recruitment criteria are not confirmed NML requirements; candidates should check the detailed advertisement before applying.
Age Limit
NML has not announced an age limit or the date on which age will be calculated. As a reference only, NTPC’s previous Assistant Law Officer recruitment set a maximum age of 30 years, with relaxations for reserved categories under Government rules. NML’s age limit, cut-off date and applicable relaxations remain subject to its detailed advertisement.
Application Fee
The pre-advertisement does not specify NML’s application fee or any category-based exemption. The detailed notice is expected to clarify the fee. Candidates should also note that CLAT-2027 registration is a separate process with a separate fee payable to the Consortium of National Law Universities; the amount is not stated in the NML pre-advertisement.
| Category | NML application fee |
|---|---|
| All categories | To be announced |
How to Apply
The process has two parts: taking the required CLAT examination and then submitting a separate application to NML when its application window opens.
- Register for CLAT-2027 PG through the Consortium of National Law Universities at consortiumofnlus.ac.in. The stated registration period is 3 August to 31 October 2026.
- Appear for the CLAT-2027 examination on 6 December 2026. NML requires the 2027 PG examination; scores from earlier years or other examinations will not be accepted.
- Monitor the NML careers page at nml.co.in/en/jobs for the detailed advertisement, eligibility rules and online application dates.
- After NML opens applications, complete the online form in accordance with the detailed instructions. The notice says applicants will need their CLAT-2027 roll number and score information.
- Review NML’s careers page for recruitment updates, addendums and corrigendums, which the notice says will be published there.
Salary & Pay Scale
The pre-advertisement confirms the E0 level but does not state NML’s pay scale or allowances. For reference, the source notice cites an E0 pay scale of INR 30,000 to INR 1,20,000 per month in NTPC’s recent Assistant Law Officer recruitment, in addition to allowances and benefits under company rules. This is an expected benchmark only; NML’s actual pay and benefits must be confirmed in its detailed advertisement.
| Post | Level | Pay information |
|---|---|---|
| Assistant Law Officer | E0 | Not confirmed by NML; INR 30,000–INR 1,20,000 per month is cited as a reference from NTPC’s recent recruitment |
Selection Process
NML has confirmed that shortlisting will be based on candidates’ CLAT-2027 PG performance and the organisation’s requirements. The pre-advertisement does not set out the rest of the process. A personal interview or group discussion, document verification and medical examination are mentioned as stages commonly used in PSU recruitment through CLAT, but the notice does not confirm that NML will hold each of them. Applicants should rely on the detailed advertisement for the final selection stages.
Eligible candidates should register for CLAT-2027 within its stated registration period and follow NML’s careers page for the detailed advertisement and application window. NML’s deadline for its own online application has not yet been announced.
Important links
- NML careers and application page: https://nml.co.in/en/jobs
- NML pre-advertisement PDF: https://www.nml.co.in/media/vuybtepg/pre-advt_english_nml_02_2026.pdf
- CLAT registration website: https://consortiumofnlus.ac.in/
Frequently asked questions
Which CLAT score is required for the NML Assistant Law Officer recruitment? +
Candidates must appear in CLAT-2027 for PG courses. Scores from earlier CLAT years and other examinations will not be accepted.
When is CLAT-2027, and when does registration close? +
CLAT-2027 is scheduled for 6 December 2026, from 2:00 PM to 4:00 PM. Registration is scheduled to close on 31 October 2026.
How many Assistant Law Officer vacancies are available? +
NML has not announced the vacancy count or category-wise distribution. It will provide those details in the detailed advertisement, and the requirement may change according to organisational needs.
What is the age limit for this recruitment? +
NML has not confirmed the age limit or age cut-off date. A maximum age of 30 years with applicable reserved-category relaxations is cited from NTPC’s previous recruitment as a reference only.
What application fee must candidates pay? +
The NML application fee has not been announced. CLAT registration is a separate process with a separate fee payable to the Consortium of National Law Universities; the NML notice does not state that amount.
How and when can candidates apply to NML? +
Candidates first need to register for and appear in CLAT-2027 PG. They can submit the separate NML online application through https://nml.co.in/en/jobs once NML releases its detailed advertisement and opens the application window.