IRCTC West Zone Apprentice Recruitment 2026

Oct 4, 2026 5 min read

Job highlights

Organisation Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC)
Location Mumbai
State 🎬 Maharashtra
Employment type Temporary
Vacancies 27
Posted Sep 30, 2026
Apply by Oct 18, 2026
Education Applicants must have passed or be pursuing the qualification specified for their selected post as of 2026-09-30. The notice states a minimum of 50% aggregate marks in matriculation from a recognised board. COPA requires matriculation and an NCVT/SCVT-affiliated ITI certificate; Executive – Procurement requires pursuing graduation in Commerce, CA Inter, Supply Chain or a similar area; HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data Management and Marketing Operations and Analytics require graduation in
Age limit 15 years completed to 25 years as of 2026-09-30. Relaxation: SC/ST 5 years; OBC 3 years; PwBD 10 years; ex-servicemen up to an additional 10 years to the extent of Defence Forces service plus 3 years, subject to at least 6 months of continuous service and
Application fee No application fee is specified in the notification.

Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC), West Zone, Mumbai, has issued notification No. 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice dated 30 September 2026 for apprentice trainees under the Apprenticeship Act. Indian citizens who meet the relevant trade qualifications and age requirements can apply for positions in areas including computer operations, procurement, HR and marketing analytics.

The recruitment offers 27 places for a 12-month apprenticeship, with postings in Mumbai or IRCTC West Zone regional offices and units. Applications are accepted online from 30 September to 18 October 2026 through IRCTC's listed websites. Shortlisting is based on merit from matriculation marks, followed by document verification; there is no written test or viva.

Important Dates

EventDate
Notification issued30 September 2026
Online application opens30 September 2026
Last date to apply online18 October 2026
Document verificationTo be notified
Training commencementTo be notified

The notification states that age and qualification criteria are assessed as of 30 September 2026.

Vacancy Details

IRCTC West Zone has announced 27 apprentice places across four roles. The training period for each role is 12 months, and selected candidates may be posted in Mumbai or at a regional office or unit under IRCTC West Zone.

PostDepartmentVacanciesEssential qualification statedTraining durationAge range stated
Computer Operator and Programming Assistant (COPA)All departments12Matriculation and an ITI certificate affiliated to NCVT or SCVT12 months15 years completed to 25 years
Executive – ProcurementCatering6Pursuing graduation in Commerce, CA Inter, Supply Chain or a similar area12 months15 years completed to 25 years
HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data ManagementFinance3Graduate in any discipline12 months15 years completed to 25 years
Marketing Operations and AnalyticsTourism6Graduate in any discipline12 months15 years completed to 25 years
Total27

Eligibility Criteria

Educational Qualification

Applicants must have passed or be pursuing the qualification prescribed for their chosen position as of 30 September 2026. The notification also states that candidates should have passed matriculation from a recognised board with at least 50% aggregate marks. For COPA, the specified trade qualification is matriculation along with an ITI certificate affiliated to NCVT or SCVT. The Procurement role is for candidates pursuing graduation in Commerce, CA Inter, Supply Chain or a similar area. Applicants for HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data Management and Marketing Operations and Analytics must be graduates in any discipline.

Government reservation guidelines apply to SC, ST, OBC, PwD, ex-servicemen and EWS candidates, along with the applicable age relaxation. The notification also lists eligible ex-servicemen engagement categories as children of deceased or disabled ex-servicemen (including cases during peacetime), children of ex-servicemen, children of serving jawans, children of serving officers, and ex-servicemen.

Age Limit

As of 30 September 2026, applicants must have completed 15 years of age and must generally be no older than 25 years. The notification provides age relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST candidates, 3 years for OBC candidates and 10 years for PwBD candidates.

For ex-servicemen, the stated upper-age relaxation is up to an additional 10 years, to the extent of service rendered in the Defence Forces, plus 3 years, provided the person served continuously for at least 6 months. This relaxation does not apply to ex-servicemen who have already joined civil government service after using ex-servicemen status for engagement.

Application Fee

The notification does not specify an application fee. No category-wise fee amount is provided.

How to Apply

  1. Visit the IRCTC website at www.irctc.com or the IRCTC Tourism website at www.irctctourism.com during the application period.
  2. Read the official notification and confirm that you meet the age and qualification requirements for the apprentice role you intend to select.
  3. Complete the online application with the requested details and submit legible, self-attested scanned copies of the applicable supporting documents.
  4. Prepare the relevant documents, which may include the Class 10 marksheet, ITI marksheets and certificate, graduation degree and marksheets for graduate-level trades, and proof of date of birth. Applicants claiming reservation or ex-servicemen consideration should also provide the relevant caste, disability, discharge or serving certificate.
  5. Upload a colour photograph measuring 3.5 cm by 4.5 cm. It must have been taken within three months of the application date and show a clear front view without a cap or sunglasses.
  6. Submit the application by 18 October 2026 and retain the application details. Applicants must also be able to provide their registration details on the Apprenticeship India portal.
  7. If shortlisted, attend document verification with original documents and two self-attested photocopies of each required document. The notification says candidates should be prepared to report at short notice.

The document list in the notice includes the 10th Standard marksheet and ITI marksheet; graduation degree and marksheets for trades requiring graduation; a date-of-birth document such as a Class 10 certificate or marksheet or school leaving certificate; consolidated ITI semester marksheets or a provisional National Trade Certificate showing marks; the NCVT/SCVT National Trade Certificate or provisional certificate; caste certificate for SC/ST/OBC applicants; disability certificate for PwBD applicants; and discharge or serving certificate for applicants under the ex-servicemen quota.

Salary & Pay Scale

Selected candidates will receive a monthly stipend at the rates prescribed under the Apprenticeship Act. The notification does not state a specific stipend amount. The apprenticeship lasts for 12 months.

Selection Process

IRCTC will prepare a merit list using the percentage of marks obtained in the matriculation examination. Where marks are recorded under a grading system, the average of the highest and lowest marks will be used. No written examination or viva is planned.

If applicants have equal marks, the older candidate receives preference. If their dates of birth are also the same, preference goes to the candidate who passed matriculation earlier. Shortlisted candidates must undergo verification of original testimonials, and final engagement is subject to successful verification. Offers are issued in merit order. Stand-by candidates may be offered a place if details of absentees or rejected candidates from the merit list are received.

Eligible candidates should submit their online applications and supporting details by 18 October 2026. Check the official notice and application websites for updates about document verification and the training start date.

Important links

Frequently asked questions

How many apprentice vacancies has IRCTC West Zone announced? +

There are 27 vacancies: 12 for COPA, 6 for Executive – Procurement, 3 for HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data Management, and 6 for Marketing Operations and Analytics.

What is the last date to apply for the IRCTC West Zone apprenticeship? +

Online applications are open from 30 September 2026 through 18 October 2026.

What is the age limit, and are relaxations available? +

Applicants must be at least 15 years old and generally no older than 25 on 30 September 2026. The notification provides relaxations for SC/ST, OBC, PwBD and ex-servicemen candidates, subject to its stated conditions.

What qualifications are required for the apprentice posts? +

COPA requires matriculation and an NCVT/SCVT-affiliated ITI certificate. Procurement applicants must be pursuing graduation in Commerce, CA Inter, Supply Chain or a similar area. The HR and Marketing roles require graduation in any discipline. The notice also states a 50% aggregate requirement in matriculation from a recognised board.

Is there an examination, and how will candidates be selected? +

There is no written test or viva. IRCTC will prepare a merit list based on matriculation marks, apply the stated tie-break rules where needed, and verify original documents for shortlisted applicants.

What is the application fee and stipend? +

The notification does not specify an application fee. Selected apprentices receive a monthly stipend at the rates prescribed under the Apprenticeship Act, but no exact amount is stated.

#IRCTC Apprentice #West Zone Recruitment #Apprentice Jobs 2026 #Mumbai Jobs #Railway Apprenticeship

More jobs