India Post GDS 2026 First Merit List
Job highlights
| Organisation | Department of Posts, Ministry of Communications |
|---|---|
| Location | India |
| Employment type | Other |
| Vacancies | 23757 |
| Posted | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Apply by | Sep 21, 2026 |
| Education | Merit ranking is based on Class 10 marks. The full educational eligibility requirements are not stated in the result information; consult the official recruitment notification. |
The Department of Posts, under the Ministry of Communications, has released the first merit list for Gramin Dak Sevak (GDS) Online Engagement Schedule-II, July 2026. Candidates who applied for Branch Postmaster (BPM), Assistant Branch Postmaster (ABPM) or Dak Sevak posts can check the relevant circle-wise PDF on the official portal.
The recruitment covers 23,757 posts, and the first merit list was published on 12 October 2026. Applications were submitted online earlier, and selection is based on Class 10 marks without a written examination. Candidates included in the list must complete document verification at the concerned Divisional Office by 27 October 2026.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification released | 27 August 2026 |
| One Time Registration period | 31 August–19 September 2026 |
| Online application started | 2 September 2026, 5:00 PM |
| Last date to apply online | 21 September 2026, 5:00 PM |
| Application edit/correction window | 23–24 September 2026 |
| First merit list released | 12 October 2026 |
| Document verification deadline | 27 October 2026 |
Vacancy Details
The Department of Posts notified 23,757 vacancies across the BPM, ABPM and Dak Sevak roles. The notification information provided here does not give a post-wise or category-wise vacancy breakdown. The result is published as a postal circle- or state-wise merit list PDF.
Eligibility Criteria
Educational Qualification
The merit list has been prepared directly using candidates’ Class 10 marks, and the PDF shows the shortlisted candidates’ percentage of marks. The source information does not specify the full educational eligibility conditions for the recruitment, so candidates should refer to the official notification for the detailed qualification requirements.
Age Limit
The age limit and any category-wise age relaxation are not stated in the result information provided. Candidates should consult the official recruitment notification for those criteria.
Application Fee
Application fee details are not included in the available result notice. The online application period has ended; this result announcement does not provide a fee amount or category-wise fee table.
How to Apply
Applications for this recruitment are closed. Candidates can use the following steps to find the merit list and follow the next stage of selection:
- Visit the official India Post GDS portal at indiapost.gov.in/gdsonlineengagement.
- Open the Candidate Corner or the result/engagement section of the portal.
- Select the relevant postal circle or state.
- Open the GDS Schedule-II, July 2026 first merit list PDF for that circle.
- Download the PDF and search for your registration number or name. No login or password is required to view the open PDF.
- If shortlisted, follow the document verification instructions and report to the Divisional Office for the division to which you were selected by 27 October 2026.
- Carry your original documents and two sets of photocopies. The stated documents include your Class 10 marksheet and certificate, identity proof and, where applicable, a category certificate.
Salary & Pay Scale
The result information does not state the salary or pay scale for BPM, ABPM or Dak Sevak posts. Candidates should check the official recruitment notice for post-specific remuneration details.
Selection Process
There is no written examination for this recruitment. The merit list is prepared on the basis of Class 10 marks. Candidates shortlisted in the list must then complete document verification at the relevant Divisional Office by 27 October 2026, bringing their original certificates and two sets of photocopies. The Department may publish further merit lists if vacancies remain after the initial selection round.
Candidates named in the first list should check their circle’s PDF and complete verification by the stated deadline. Those who are not listed can monitor the official portal for any subsequent merit lists.
Important links
- Official India Post GDS portal: https://www.indiapost.gov.in/gdsonlineengagement
Frequently asked questions
When was the India Post GDS 2026 first merit list released? +
The first merit list for GDS Online Engagement Schedule-II, July 2026, was released on 12 October 2026.
How many vacancies were announced, and which posts are included? +
The recruitment covers 23,757 posts for BPM, ABPM and Dak Sevak roles.
How can I check the GDS merit list? +
Visit the official India Post GDS portal, select your postal circle or state, and download its first merit list PDF. Search the PDF using your name or registration number.
Do I need a login or password to view the merit list? +
No. The merit list is an open PDF and can be viewed without login credentials or a password.
What is the document verification deadline, and what should shortlisted candidates bring? +
Shortlisted candidates must report to the concerned Divisional Office by 27 October 2026. Bring original documents, including the Class 10 marksheet and certificate, identity proof, any applicable category certificate, and two sets of photocopies.
Is there a written examination for India Post GDS 2026 selection? +
No written examination is held according to the result notice. The merit list is prepared on the basis of Class 10 marks, followed by document verification for shortlisted candidates.