APPSC Group I Services Recruitment 2026
Job highlights
| Organisation | Andhra Pradesh Public Service Commission (APPSC) |
|---|---|
| State | 🌶️ Andhra Pradesh |
| Employment type | Other |
| Vacancies | 163 |
| Salary | INR 54,060 – 154,980 / month |
| Posted | Oct 6, 2026 |
| Apply by | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Education | A bachelor’s degree is required for most post codes; post code 04 requires B.E./B.Tech in Electronics and Communication Engineering, Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering, or Radio Engineering. See the post-code qualification table and official notification for the precise accepted degree wording. |
| Age limit | Minimum age is 18 or 21 years and maximum age is 30 or 44 years, depending on the post, as on 2026-07-01. Relaxations include 5 years for SC/ST/BC/EWS, 10 years for PBD candidates and for SC candidates applying to carry-forward vacancies under Limited Rec |
| Application fee | Processing fee of INR 250 for all applicants. Examination fee of INR 120 applies to general applicants and applicants from other states, making INR 370 total; it is exempt for SC, ST, BC, PBD, ex-servicemen, eligible Andhra Pradesh White Card households and eligible unemployed youth, making INR 250 total. Fees are non-refundable. Each permitted correction costs INR 100. |
The Andhra Pradesh Public Service Commission (APPSC) has issued Notification No. 07/2026, dated 6 October 2026, for direct recruitment to Group-I Services under General and Limited Recruitment. Graduates who meet the requirements for their preferred post code, including any applicable physical standards, should review the official notification before applying.
The notification concerns recruitment across 13 post categories. Its figures are inconsistent: the introductory text says 166 vacancies, while the overview table and notification title state 163; applicants should verify the final post-wise count in the official PDF. Online applications are scheduled from 6 October through 27 October 2026, up to 11:59 p.m. The stated stages are an offline, objective OMR screening test, a descriptive main examination and an interview; final selection is based on the main examination and interview.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification date | 6 October 2026 |
| Online application opens | 6 October 2026 |
| Last date to apply online | 27 October 2026, up to 11:59 p.m. |
| Application correction period | After the application deadline, for up to 7 days; exact dates are not specified |
Vacancy Details
The recruitment covers 13 different Group-I post categories, identified by post codes 01 to 13. The overview table reports 163 vacancies, but the notification's introductory text gives a total of 166. The supplied notice does not provide a post-wise or category-wise vacancy breakup, so candidates should consult the official PDF for the confirmed count and allocation details.
Eligibility Criteria
Educational Qualification
Most listed posts require a bachelor’s degree from a university established under a Central, State or Provincial Act, a UGC-recognised institution, or an equivalent recognised qualification. The specific qualification wording varies by post code. Post code 04 requires a relevant engineering degree, while post codes 01–03 and 05–13 have the general degree requirements set out below. Candidates must match their qualification to the post code in the official notification.
| Post code | Qualification stated in the notification |
|---|---|
| 01 | Bachelor’s degree from a university established or incorporated under a Central, Provincial or State Act, or from an institution recognised by the UGC, or an equivalent qualification. |
| 02 | Degree from a university in India established or incorporated under a Central or State Act, or another equivalent recognised qualification. |
| 03 | Bachelor’s degree from a university established or incorporated under a Central, Provincial or State Act, or a UGC-recognised institution, or an equivalent qualification. |
| 04 | B.E./B.Tech in Electronics and Communication Engineering, Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering, or Radio Engineering from a university established under a Central, State or Provincial Act, a UGC-recognised institution, or an equivalent qualification. |
| 05 | Bachelor’s degree from a university established or incorporated under a Central, Provincial or State Act, or a UGC-recognised institution, or an equivalent qualification. |
| 06 | Degree from a university in India established or incorporated under a Central or State Act, or another equivalent qualification. |
| 07 | Bachelor’s degree from a university established or incorporated under a Provincial, Central or State Act, or an institution recognised by the UGC. |
| 08 | Degree from a university in India established or incorporated under a Central or State Act, or another equivalent qualification. |
| 09 | Bachelor’s degree from a university established or incorporated under a Provincial, Central or State Act, or an institution recognised by the UGC. |
| 10 | Degree from a recognised university in India established by a State Government Act or incorporated under a Central or State Act, or an equivalent qualification. |
| 11 | Bachelor’s degree from a university established or incorporated under a Central, State or Provincial Act, or another equivalent qualification recognised by the UGC. |
| 12 | Degree from a university in India established or incorporated under a Central or State Act, or another equivalent qualification. |
| 13 | Bachelor’s degree from a university recognised by the UGC. |
Additional physical and vision standards for post codes 03 and 04: The notice cites G.O. Ms. No. 137, Home (Police-E) Department, dated 1 June 1998, and G.O. Ms. No. 319, Home (Police-E) Department, dated 16 October 1995. For post codes 03 and 04, the stated general standard is a minimum height of 167.6 cm, chest measurement of at least 86.3 cm on full inspiration and chest expansion of at least 5 cm. For Scheduled Tribe candidates, the stated minimums are 164 cm in height, 83.8 cm chest measurement and 5 cm expansion. Women applying for post codes 03 and 04 must be at least 152.5 cm tall and weigh at least 45.5 kg.
For post code 03, candidates must satisfy a Medical Board regarding physique, fitness and capacity for active outdoor work, and an Ophthalmic Surgeon must certify that their vision meets the applicable standard without contact glasses. Standard I requires distant vision of 6/6 in each eye and near vision of 0.6 in each eye. Under Standard II, the better eye must have 6/6 distant vision and read 0.6; the worse eye must be at least 6/6 without glasses and at least 6/24 after correction, with near vision of 1. Under Standard III, the better eye must have distant vision of at least 6/24 without glasses and 6/6 after correction, and near vision of 0.8; the worse eye must have at least 6/24 without glasses and 6/12 after correction, and near vision of 1.
For post code 04, Standard I requires distant vision of 6/6 in each eye and near vision of 0.5 (Snellen) in each eye. Under Standard II, the better eye must have distant vision of at least 6/24 without glasses and 6/6 after correction, with near vision of 0.8. The worse eye must have at least 6/24 without glasses and 6/12 after correction, with near vision of 1. The notice lists colour blindness, squint or a morbid condition of either eye or eyelid, knock knees, pigeon chest, flat foot, varicose veins, hammer toes, fractured limbs and decayed teeth as disqualifying conditions for post code 04.
Age Limit
The stated age range is a minimum of 18 or 21 years and a maximum of 30 or 44 years, depending on the post, as on 1 July 2026. The notification refers to Rule 12 of the Andhra Pradesh State and Subordinate Service Rules, 1996, and G.O. Ms. Nos. 187 and 188, General Administration (Ser-A) Department, both dated 14 September 2026. The supplied notice does not map each minimum and maximum age to individual post codes, so candidates should confirm the applicable limit in the full notification.
| Candidate category | Age relaxation stated |
|---|---|
| SC, ST, BC and EWS | 5 years |
| SC candidates for carry-forward vacancies under Limited Recruitment | 10 years |
| Persons with Benchmark Disabilities (PBD) | 10 years |
| Ex-servicemen | Deduction of 3 years plus the period of service rendered in the Armed Forces/NCC, as stated in the notification. |
| NCC instructors | The relaxation column does not specify a separate period for candidates who worked as NCC instructors. |
| Regular Andhra Pradesh State Government employees | Deduction of regular State Government service, up to a maximum of 5 years, when calculating the maximum age. Employees of corporations and municipalities are not eligible for this concession. |
| Retrenched temporary employees of the State Census Department with at least 6 months of service | 3 years |
Application Fee
| Applicant category | Processing fee | Examination fee | Total payable |
|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 250 | 120 | 370 |
| SC, ST, BC, PBD and ex-servicemen | 250 | Exempt | 250 |
| Andhra Pradesh residents in households holding a White Card issued by the Civil Supplies Department | 250 | Exempt | 250 |
| Unemployed youth covered by G.O. Ms. No. 439, General Administration (Ser-A) Department, dated 18 October 1996 | 250 | Exempt | 250 |
| Applicants from other states | 250 | 120 | 370 |
The fee is non-refundable and cannot be adjusted in other circumstances. Indian Postal Orders and demand drafts are not accepted. The notice states that each permitted application correction costs 100.
How to Apply
- Visit the APPSC website and sign in using your registered OTPR number. If you are applying to an APPSC notification for the first time, complete the One Time Profile Registration (OTPR) form carefully to obtain an OTPR ID.
- Log in with your OTPR ID as the username and the password you set. Select “Online Application Submission” from the Commission website.
- Check the information already displayed, then enter the application-specific details, including local or non-local status and any White Card details that apply.
- Complete the qualification details, post preferences and examination centre fields. Review the form and submit it using the Save or Save & Submit option as appropriate.
- If payment fails, begin a fresh payment process through the application facility. Once the application is successfully submitted, keep its details for your records.
- Application corrections are enabled after the submission deadline for up to 7 days. Corrections can be made in the application form for a fee of 100 per correction during that period.
Applications are to be submitted online through the official APPSC website. The notification PDF is available at this official link.
Salary & Pay Scale
The overview gives a pay scale of 54,060 to 154,980, with the exact scale dependent on the post. The introductory text gives a different upper figure of 151,370, so the supplied notification information is inconsistent on the maximum; consult the official detailed notification for the correct post-wise pay scales.
Selection Process
The process has three stages: an objective Screening Test conducted offline using OMR, a descriptive Main Written Examination and an Interview (Personality Test). The notice says final selection is based on performance in the Main Examination and Interview. The screening test has two papers, each with 120 questions, 120 minutes and 120 marks. Paper I covers History and Culture; Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International Relations; the Indian and Andhra Pradesh economy and planning; and Geography. Paper II covers General Mental Ability, Administrative and Psychological Abilities, Science and Technology, and regional, national and international current events. Each wrong screening-test answer attracts a penalty of one-third of the marks assigned to that question.
The main examination includes qualifying Telugu and English papers, each lasting 180 minutes and carrying 150 marks, followed by five 180-minute papers of 150 marks each: General Essay on contemporary regional, national and international themes; History, Culture and Geography of India and Andhra Pradesh; Polity, Constitution, Governance, Law and Ethics; Economy and Development of India and Andhra Pradesh; and Science, Technology and Environmental Issues. The interview carries 75 marks, and the notification states a total of 825 marks. Telugu and English marks do not count towards merit. The minimum qualifying score in each language paper is 40% for OC, Sports Persons and EWS candidates, 35% for BC candidates and 30% for SC, ST and PBD candidates.
Eligible candidates should check the official notification for the confirmed vacancy count, post-specific conditions and pay details, then submit their online application by 27 October 2026 at 11:59 p.m.
Important links
- APPSC official website: https://psc.ap.gov.in/
- Official notification PDF: https://psc.ap.gov.in/Documents/NotificationDocuments/Group_I_07_2026.pdf
Frequently asked questions
What is the last date to apply for APPSC Group I Recruitment 2026? +
The online application deadline is 27 October 2026 at 11:59 p.m.
How many vacancies are available? +
The overview and notification title state 163 vacancies across 13 post categories, but the introductory text says 166. Applicants should check the official PDF for the confirmed total and post-wise details.
What qualifications are required for APPSC Group I posts? +
A bachelor’s degree or equivalent is required for most post codes. Post code 04 specifically requires a relevant engineering degree in Electronics and Communication, Electronics and Telecommunication, or Radio Engineering. Post codes 03 and 04 also have physical and vision standards.
How much is the application fee? +
The processing fee is INR 250 for all applicants. The examination fee is INR 120 for general applicants and applicants from other states, while listed eligible categories are exempt from it. The resulting totals are INR 370 or INR 250, as applicable.
What are the stages in the selection process? +
Candidates go through an offline, objective OMR Screening Test, a descriptive Main Written Examination and an Interview (Personality Test). The notice says final selection is based on the main examination and interview.
How do I apply, and can I correct my application? +
Apply online through the APPSC website using an OTPR ID. First-time applicants must register for OTPR. The notice says corrections are enabled after the application deadline for up to 7 days and cost INR 100 per correction.